top of page
Search

Welcome Gnome | How To

Updated: Feb 15, 2021












This adorable little guy or gal can be made easily using most items you have at home. Which is why I love this project! This home gnome can be accessorized by season or holiday event. My gnomes oversee my front porch throughout the year.


You will need:

Fabric

Hot glue

Rubber bands

Sphere

Fuzzy fabric

Hat

Ribbon (optional)


1. Decide what to use for the body. I had water containers on hand, so that's what I used. Add a material to weight it, if you are putting them outside. What do you have on hand, soil, rice, popcorn, birdseed ,beans? I used 6 cups of fresh kitty litter and added 2 cups of water, just to ensure it was heavy enough. (in the event of wind gust)



2. Fabric to wrap around the container. I used a scrap from an old bed sheet but again, use what you have or like. My simple method was to lay the bottle down on its side, on top of the fabric and wrap the fabric around the container to get an idea of how much fabric was needed. (secret: I didn't cover the bottom) Then attach the fabric with a hot glue gun & rubber band.

3. Now the fun part, decorate! Whatever you chose for the nose and hot glue it right on. I had a small Christmas ball painted silver because "I'm all about using items I have on hand." To judge the nose placement, put your hat on your container, to give an idea how far down it needs to be. Next cut into a V shape & hot glue your fuzzy fabric under the nose. (secret: I used an old fuzzy Christmas tree skirt) Lastly add your hat & attach it with a rubber band (in case you want to use the hat later) and add any ribbon or decorations you would like! Pickup your Gnome print and not mess with the diy project from the link below.


Shop for Farmhouse Style digital Art & Textiles https://www.etsy.com/shop/ThreadbareBunny?ref=search_shop_redirect




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page